Book Review: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

image

Rating: ★★★
Read: April 2017

This book was heartbreakingly beautiful, I don’t even know where to start. It’s really difficult, but CoHo readers will surely learn something from this book. It is both an eye-opener and a very difficult book to read and it made me feel all sorts of emotions.

“There is no such thing as bad people. We’re all just people who sometimes do bad things.”

 

In this book, we follow Lily Bloom, who is haunted by her past. It opens with her father’s death and how she managed to cope up with everything that’s currently happening in her life. Then she meets a gorgeous neurosurgeon, but as soon as she tries to make something out of her attraction with him, her first love suddenly appears back to life out of nowhere. From there, we will see how Lily conquers every challenge she has encountered and how tough she came out through it all.

“All humans make mistakes. What determines a person’s character aren’t the mistakes we make. It’s how we take those mistakes and turn them into lessons rather than excuses.”

 

Want to know a naked truth? I really related to Lily. It may not be in the exact same way, but it made me feel for her. It made me realize how far I’ve conquered and how strong I turned out to be… just like her. I cannot thank Colleen Hoover enough for this book, it’s heartbreaking and beautiful all at once.

“It stops here. With me and you. It ends with us.”

 

I recommend this book to everyone who has gone through “hell” in life and to everyone who thinks they can’t go through another day. Read it and just keep swimming.

Here’s a quick confession: Even though I admire and adore Colleen Hoover’s writing, I’ve only read three (including this) of her books. Why? Because her books are way too expensive! But, well, each book deserves all that, given that she writes so well.

Book Review: Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira

Rating: ★★★ 
First Read: May 2014
Re-read: March 2017

It was my first time re-reading a novel, to be honest. I’ve always wanted to do so before, but I just didn’t have the extra time given that I’m always exhausted when I get home from work and the weekends almost always feels like it’s too short.

With Love Letters to the Dead, since I’ve only read it through an e-copy version back in 2014 when it was first released, I was really eager to re-read it. It’s really one of my most favorite contemporary novels, and I’m so happy that I finally got my own copy of the physical book.

This book was just so beautifully written, it makes my heart ache in a good way. There are books that you like, but there are books that you can relate to and love and cherish and will keep touching your heart.

When I first read this book three years ago, I didn’t even know where to begin with, so I ended up not writing a review at all, in fear of not giving the book its justice. Right now, I still don’t know where to start or what to say.

Ava Dellaira brings us a story of Laurel

— a girl who just wants to find and pick herself up after her sister’s death. Her life has been full of tragedy, but her hope and love for a lot of things keeps her going most of the time.

“I think a lot of people want to be someone, but we are scared that if we try, we won’t be as good as everyone imagines we could be.”

Her letters to renowned dead people was really interesting and lovely and the way she talks to them through her letters really kept me turning the page. I can also totally relate to her when it comes to not telling the people I love what I really feel towards something. It has always been like that for a lot of people, I guess, because it’s really hard opening up your thoughts, your pasts and your problems to people and her reason was just the same as mine. I am always afraid that if they knew, they would leave.

 

“You can be noble and brave and beautiful and still find yourself falling.”

 

Each of Laurel’s letter revealed pieces of what really happened that night when May died and also a part of her personal story

— how broken she feels deep inside, how her family ended up the way it did, and I also liked that in each of her letters, we’ve seen how the her friends grew throughout the book.

I also liked her relationship with Sky. It wasn’t perfect, just like every love story, but it was beautiful and heartbreaking and lovely all at the same time.

 

“When we are in love, we are both completely in danger and completely saved.”

 

I literally have moments when reading the book that I felt like it was dragging because it is such a page-turner. One of my favorites in this book were the poems Laurel shares from her English classes because I am also a big fan of poems and Elizabeth Bishop.

Love Letters to the Dead sucked me straight from the first page until the end. It is a beautifully written book that is deeply moving

— it gives its readers hope and is filled with realizations about life. I recommend this to readers who loved Perks of Being A Wall Flower and The Fault In Our Stars and mostly to anyone who’s looking for something that will change their perspective about life and love.

 

“Truth is beautiful, no matter what the truth is. Even if it’s scary or bad. It is beauty simply because it’s true. And truth is bright. Truth makes you more you.”

 

Book Review: The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

image

Rating: ★★★
Read: March 2017

There are just some books that will give your life a huge impact and The Little Prince is one of them. This is a children’s book and I feel quite ashamed that I haven’t read it before, but as the saying goes, ‘better late than never.’ I’m just glad that I finally got to read this very deep and poignant classic!

This classic tale reminds each and everyone of its readers of how innocent and fragile we once were and how everything has changed now that we’re older. Its intended readers are children, but I actually think that it’s secretly for us, the adults.

“All grown-ups were once children… but only few of them remember it.”

 

There are parts of the book that I felt abashed for the Little Prince pointed out a lot of truth in his observations about the grown-ups. I know deep down that we are the odd adults he is talking about. Growing up, we forgot the little things that are really the ones that mattered the most.

 

“It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye.”

The Little Prince is the story of each and everyone of us when we were kids. How our imagination, fragility, curiosity and our innocence kept us going. And now that we are grown-ups, the Little Prince is reminding us that we shall not forget what we once were and to keep it dear to ourselves, because those moments were priceless.

 

“The most beautiful things in the world cannot be seen or touched, they are felt with the heart.”

 

So, when you see that star, think of the Little Prince. Think of your childhood and think of yourself because we all little princes and princesses deep within.

Book Review: Dear Distance by Luis Katigbak

image

Rating: ★★★
Read: March 2017

3.5 stars out of 5!

I was browsing through the shelves of my local bookstore with my brother while we were waiting for our mom to get done with the grocery and I came across this book. The cover actually made it hard not to notice and the synopsis at the back of the book seemed really interesting.

This is actually the first book of Luis Katigbak that I’ve ever read. I mentioned in Twitter that I have only read a handful of local authors and that I find it hard to find local novels these days that aren’t fanfics of local celebrities, so having to find books like this, the feel to buy and read it is intense for me.

Dear Distance hasn’t let me down. Upon diving into the stories, I feel like I was a kid of the 70s and the 80s. It’s hard not to feel like I am one with the characters when someone writes so well.

 

“In the end, distances and surfaces are all we can ever be sure of, and this is no sad thing. In a world that has accelerated almost beyond recognition, it may be the only comforting thought of which I am still capable.”

 

My favorite from this collection is Sabado, 1995. I don’t know why, but it really made an impact to me.

Book Review: The Universe of Us by Lang Leav

image

Rating: ★★★
Read: March 2017 

4.5-ish, so close to 5!

This is the third book of Lang Leav that I have read and she never fails to pull at my heartstrings. I have always been impressed by poets because poems are really so hard to construct. I have read a few poems Edgar Allan Poe and E. E. Cummings and Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet and it actually requires a lot of understanding but I loved their poems nevertheless.

In Lang Leav’s books, she has a different and modern take on poems that I adore. I like the way her writing touch people’s hearts and make us feel like we’re not alone. Now, in this fourth collection of poems, Lang Leav has grown absolutely well with her writing. She has improved even more since I first read Love & Misadventure. 

I’ve read this book for about an hour, it was just too good that I actually devoured every page, it’s like a medicine for my soul. It covers everything, from love to heartbreak, from being lost to getting found, and really, just about life itself.

…and although life will always find a way to test you, someday you’ll have everything you want. Your ending will be a happy one. 

— A Premonition

My favorites are:

Distance
A Premonition
And Then
Predestined Stars
Eros
Stitches And Scars
Remorse
Young Love